Title_WithFrame.png

Live Adventure is a graduation project (at RUBIKA Supinfogame).
The team is composed of 11 people.

Unreal.png

Made with Unreal

Trailer (edited and recorded by my cares)

Concept

Live adventure is a 2nd person story-driven single-player adventure game where the player controls a sibling duo. While the brother carries the game's camera, his sister is filmed by that same camera.

Game Prototype

Version Finale

Intention

The game proposes to embody a duet through the eyes of a carried camera in a colorful universe carried by a captivating narration with a light tone.

My Missions

At the initiative of the project, I took different roles including

Gameplay programmer
Narrative Designer
Lead Writer
Creative Director.

 

Dialog System

Creative Direction

Since the game has a strong narrative intention and the constant presence of two characters, we need a versatile way to expose all the elements of the plot while marking the impact of the protagonists and the player's actions as he progresses.

Another major objective is to underline the importance of their complicity during the adventure in order to reinforce the emotional journey proposed to the player.

The story is documented on Miro and Confluence. In addition, in order to meet our intention to make an emotional experience, our game artists have established a color script to study the color evolution of the game according to its story.

Live Adventure - Les refs - ColorScript.

Narrative Design

Dialogues are an effective way to introduce our characters and expose their personalities, goals, and challenges

 

The player's actions with the protagonists are marked by an exchange between the characters reinforcing the immersion and the experience of living the adventure of a duo.

 

Dialogs are also used to guide the player through the levels. Thus the characters mark the signage elements that have been put in place. They can also intervene during the puzzle phases by giving clues via input.

To estimate the number of dialogs needed, we've analyzed the game and the possible location/moment where dialogs can intervene to give feedback, information, or enhance the narrative. Then, we've established their necessity and give them their level of priority. That way when a decision has to be made whenever a dialog is more important than another one, we can quickly decide. 

Download

After this process is done, I start to write dialogs that have a higher level of priority. That way, we can then implement them (and even make a custom recording of ourselves) in order to confirm their importance in the game. Thanks to the playtest we affine our list and tweak our dialogs to respond to the players' needs and actions.

Once the dialogues are validated, I enter them into a document for the attention of our dubbers. I add descriptions of the acting situation for each dialogue, indications of acting on each line, and a folder on the Drive so that the dubbers can put their recordings there, but also listen to those of others. Finally, I inform the dubbers concerned about the presence of new lines of dialogue to be recorded. 

Download

Note: Due to the time difference between our dubbers (USA) and ourselves (France), we could not set up remote recording sessions. However, we proposed them to set up, on their side, these remote sessions to obtain the best result for the recording of the dialogues.

Once their recordings are uploaded, the voice actors notify me about new recordings that are directly processed by our sound designer. Recorded lines have a "Recorded" status on the list so that they can be easily spotted. If retakes are necessary, I notify the voice actors by giving them new indications, and I change the status of the "Recorded" lines to "Retake".

Writing

When writing dialogues, all traits for each character are discussed in groups using references. From this base, I write the character sheets and some examples of dialogues to practice. The story is defined by key scenes allowing to remain modular in its development.

All the character sheets are written on Confluence using a template that I have established according to many references such as The Game Narrative Toolbox.

Download

Download

The story is documented on Miro and Confluence. In addition, in order to meet our intention to make an emotional experience, our game artists have established a color script to study the color evolution of the game according to its story.

Download

Download

In order to evaluate the importance and the content of a dialog for the project, several excerpts have been written and recorded in French. Then, after having implemented them, it was easier for us to estimate the approximate number of lines of dialogs to write for the whole game (of course, this estimate evolves according to the level design).

Programming

The dialogue system must meet the needs of writing, and be modular in order to respond to the many situations in which it must be implemented. Research work is carried out to conceive all the necessary elements in the realization of this system by taking example on those of Double Fine, or Naughty Dog. 

All information relating to the operation and implementation of the dialogues is documented in English on Confluence and made available to the team. 

Download

This is a habit I had for my tools back on QUASH! so my teammates can easily use my tools. I find it very useful to also do it for features as it permits me to review my logic and get their limits. 

I decided to start with a database of all the dialog lines called "MasterList". In the form of a shared excel file, it is easy for writers to work together. 


This system makes it possible to consider a possible localization using excel sheets.

This first file gathers all the elements related to the writing for each line: the name of the scene where the line is used, the name of the speaking character, the text, the type of the dialog (related to the dialog hierarchy), the name of the group to which it belongs, and a unique ID.

Each line has a unique reference composed as follows:
#"Scene". "ID". "Character".

The "MasterList" is then exported as a CSV and interpreted in Data Tables.

The DT_DialogLines contains the dialog lines and allows you to fill in information about the in-game implementation: an audio file, a volume adjustment, a delay before activation, a character animation, a lipsync, etc. The DT_DialogLines are used to create a list of dialog lines.

The DT_DialogGroups groups all dialog lines by dialog group (or conversation). Each dialog group contains a priority order to see if a dialog can interrupt another dialog in progress. Additional parameters for the conditions necessary to be played are available, ranging from the required gameplay situation to the triggering character that should trigger the dialog. These rules are mostly used in the context of a popup dialog requiring certain conditions before being played.

Additional Notes

For optimization and organization reasons, the dialogs are distributed and loaded by "scene" of appearance (knowing that the gameplay dialogs intervening in all the scenes are gathered in a "Common" scene).

The implementation of sounds and the creation of soundbanks in Wwise follow the same organization.

Download

 

Camera

Creative Direction

Like Brothers: Tales of Two Sons, the game requires you to control a duo with a single gamepad. The difference is that one of the characters carries the game's camera. We find the perception of a game in the 1st person mixed with the navigation of a character in the 3rd person.

 

Special attention is given to the camera's feedback to support its tangible aspect. The player must feel the presence of a cameraman at the controls of the game's camera and direct him in a 3D world.

Programming

A default configuration appeared; the one where the cameraman targets the filmed character and moves around it. The difficulty of this mode lies in the lateral and backward movements, as the player has no visibility in these directions.

 

Another mode is proposed in parallel where the cameraman moves as in a first-person game. This mode has been added to address the frustration of most players not being able to move their gaze without having to reposition the filmed character.

A configuration system and an architecture have been set up with the Lead Programmer to facilitate the creation of different control modes (using a Data Table). For example, a mode where the filmed character is automatically followed by the cameraman or a mode where the cameraman does not move anymore unlike the filmed character, etc.

A "pawn" manages all the "characters". While the inputs are managed with interfaces, the characters are generated, referenced as "actor" and assigned to the "pawn". This architecture allows us to modify the assigned actors for others at any time, as in an exotic sequence where the controls change.

Camera feedbacks work by using "curve" and "timeline". All the curves are gathered in a DataTable allowing the game designers to easily customize them, and to vary the feedback by offering several versions.

LiveAd_Feedbacks.jpg

Narrative Design

Characters interactions and thus player's agency is expressed with a dynamic dialog system. It allows us to react to any player's actions such as stoping one character or another or both of them. 

Dialogue triggered by the collision of the characters

Dialogue resuming after an interruption

Dialogue triggered when a character has reached the maximum distance

 

Signs

Creative Direction

The orientation of the player in the levels responds to a desire to lighten the player's mental load. Several signs are necessary: both to guide the player to the next level and to indicate the right points of view.

Narrative Design

Hooks belonging to the parents, and used for the grappling hook by the filmed character are placed in the path of the player. This solution marks key positions for the player's progress and literally puts the characters on the trail of their parents.

HighresScreenshot00000.png

Other graphic elements indicate the right path to take, such as ruined path remains, colorful frescoes, "god rays" or the layout of the level composing the cameraman's frame.

The protagonists' dialogues guide the player in his progress. During puzzles, for example, the characters interact during the success of a workshop, or, when the player is blocked, they highlight our clue system.

A system of eye weight on the camera allows the level designer to bring the eye to a specific point whenever he wants. Particularly useful when the player asks for a clue, the camera turns towards the next level or workshop.

Narrative Design

After several playstests we noticed that the display of subtitles mixed with the atypical controller forced the players to choose between "stop to read them" or "ignore them to move forward". In both cases, the dialogs were difficult to integrate into the gameplay.

Writing

To prepare the dubbing, several dialogue excerpts were written and then selected to judge the range of emotions of each candidate in addition to their concordance with the characters.

For writing, I use Celtx by creating a shared file. This way, we can easily work together and leave each other comments.

Here is an excerpt of the dubbers selected for the characters (Carmina MANLEY & Arianna FOX respectively dubbing LENCE for the cameraman & REEL for the filmed character)

00:00 / 01:39
 

Dubbing

Creative Direction

To feel the complicity in the duo, dialogues are written and implemented. However, a text hardly conveys as much emotion as a voice. To add dubbing, I had to prepare and gather all the necessary elements to launch the castings. The management of the applications is done by a game designer, a sound designer, and myself. 

Many thanks to the whole team!

Without whom this project would not be possible.

as

Artistic Director
& Character Designer

as

Lead Game Programmer

as

Lead Game Designer

as

Environment Artist

as

Environment Artist

as

Technical/VFX Artist

as

Animator

LiveAdventure_Poster.png

as

Technical Game Designer

as

Level Designer

as

Level Designer

Eugène Abadi

as

Sound Designer

as

Composer

Sound Designer

Title_WithFrame.png

Live Adventure est un projet de fin d'études (à RUBIKA Supinfogame).
L'équipe est composée de 11 personnes.

Unreal.png

Développé sur Unreal

Trailer (édité et enregistré par mes soins)

Concept

Live adventure est un jeu d'aventure story-driven à la 2eme personne jouable en solo avec une manette. Dans ce jeu, le joueur contrôle un duo frère et soeur appelé Lence et Reel. Alors que Lence porte la caméra du jeu, Reel est filmée par la caméra.

Prototype du jeu

Incoming!

Version Finale

Intentions

Le jeu propose d'incarner un duo à travers les yeux d'une caméra portée dans un univers coloré porté par une narration prenante au ton léger.

Mes Missions

A l'initiative du projet,  j'ai pris différents rôles dont ceux de

Gameplay Programmeur
Narrative Designer
Lead Writer
Directeur Créatif

Les Dialogues

 

Direction Créative

Le jeu disposant d'une intention narrative importante et de la présence constante de deux personnages, il nous faut un moyen versatile pour exposer l'ensemble des éléments servant à l'intrigue tout en marquant l'impact des protagonistes et des actions du joueur pendant sa progression.

Un autre objectif majeur est de souligner l'importance de leur complicité durant l'aventure pour renforcer le voyage émotionnel que l'on propose au joueur.

Afin de répondre à notre intention de rendre une expérience émotionnelle, un color script est réalisé pour étudier l'évolution colorimétrique du jeu en fonction de son histoire.

Live Adventure - Les refs - ColorScript.

Narrative Design

Les dialogues constituent un moyen efficace pour introduire nos personnages et exposer leurs personnalités, leurs objectifs et leurs enjeux. 

Les actions du joueur avec les protagonistes sont marquées par une interaction, un échange entre les personnages renforçant l'immersion et l'expérience de vivre l'aventure d'un duo.

Les dialogues sont également utilisés pour orienter le joueur dans les niveaux. Ainsi les personnages marquent les éléments signalétiques mis en place. Ils peuvent aussi intervenir lors des phases de puzzle en donnant des indices par l'intermédiaire d'un input.

Pour estimer le nombre de dialogues nécessaires, avec l'aide d'un game designer, nous avons analysé le jeu et les endroits/moments possibles où les dialogues peuvent intervenir pour donner un feedback, une information ou supporter notre histoire. Ensuite, nous avons établi leur nécessité et leur avons attribué un niveau de priorité. De fait, lorsqu'il faut décider si un dialogue est plus important qu'un autre, nous pouvons rapidement trancher. 

Télécharger ici

Une fois ce processus terminé, je commence à écrire les dialogues qui ont un niveau de priorité plus élevé. De cette façon, nous pouvons ensuite les implémenter dans le projet (et même faire un enregistrement personnalisé de nous-mêmes) afin de confirmer leur importance dans le jeu. Grâce au playtest, nous affinons notre liste et ajustons nos dialogues autant par leur contenu que par la forme pour répondre aux besoins des joueurs.

Les dialogues validés, je les rentrons dans un document à l'attention de nos doubleurs. Je rajoute des descriptions sur la situation de jeu pour chaque dialogue, des indications de jeu d'acteur sur chaque ligne, et un dossier sur le Drive pour que les doubleurs puissent y déposer leurs enregistrements, mais aussi, écouter ceux des autres. Enfin, j'informe les doubleurs concernés de la présence de nouvelles lignes de dialogues à enregistrer. 

Télécharger ici

Note: Dû au décalage horaire entre nos doubleurs (USA) et nous même (France), nous n'avons pas pu mettre en place des sessions d'enregistrement en remote. Cependant, nous leur avons proposer de mettre en place, de leur côté, ces sessions en remote pour obtenir le meilleur résultat à l'enregistrement des dialogues.

Une fois leurs enregistrements "uploadés", les doubleurs m'avertissent de l'ajout de nouveaux enregistrements qui sont directement traités par notre sound designer. Les lignes enregistrées disposent d'un état "Recorded" sur la liste permettant d'être facilement repérables. Si des "retakes" sont nécessaires, j'en avertis les doubleurs en leur donnant de nouvelles indications, et je change l'état des lignes "Recorded" en "Retake".

Ecriture

Pour l'écriture des dialogues, l'ensemble des traits pour chaque personnage sont discutés en groupe avec des références. En partant de cette base, je rédige les fiches personnages et quelques exemples de dialogues pour m'exercer. L'histoire est définie par des scènes clés permettant de rester modulaire dans son déroulement.

L'ensemble des fiches personnages sont rédigées sur Confluence en partant d'un template que j'ai établi selon de nombreuses références comme The Game Narrative Toolbox.

Télécharger ici

Télécharger ici

L'histoire est documentée sur Miro et Confluence

Télécharger ici

Télécharger ici

Afin d'estimer la quantité de dialogues nécessaire au projet, plusieurs extraits sont écrits et enregistrés en français. Puis, après les avoir implémentés, il est plus facile d'évaluer approximativement le nombre de lignes de dialogues à écrire pour l'ensemble du jeu (bien évidemment cette estimation évolue en fonction du level design).

Gameplay Programmer

Le système de dialogue doit répondre aux besoins d'écriture, et se montrer modulable afin de répondre aux nombreuses situations dans lesquels il doit s'implémenter. Un travail de recherche est effectué pour concevoir l'ensemble des éléments nécessaires dans la réalisation de ce système en prenant exemple sur ceux de Double Fine, ou de Naughty Dog. 

L'ensemble des informations relatives au fonctionnement et à l'implémentation des dialogues est documenté en anglais sur Confluence et mis à disposition de l'équipe. 

Télécharger ici

C'est une habitude que j'ai prise pour mes outils sur QUASH ! afin que mes coéquipiers puissent facilement utiliser mes outils. Je trouve très utile de le faire aussi pour les fonctionnalités car cela me permet de revoir ma logique et de connaître ses limites. 

J'ai décidé de partir sur une base de données appelée "MasterList" regroupant l'ensemble des lignes de dialogues. 

Sous la forme d'un fichier excel partagé, il est facile pour les écrivains de travailler ensemble.

Ce système permet d'envisager une possible localisation en utilisant les feuilles d'excel.

Ce premier fichier regroupe l'ensemble des éléments relatifs à l'écriture pour chaque ligne: à savoir, le nom de la scène où la ligne est utilisée, le nom du personnage parlant, le texte, le type du dialogue (relatif à la hiérarchisation des dialogues), le nom du groupe auquel il appartient, et un ID unique.

Chaque ligne dispose d'une référence unique composée de la manière suivante:
#"Scene"."ID"."Character".

La "MasterList" est ensuite exportée sous la forme d'un CSV et interprété dans des Data Tables.

 

La DT_DialogLines regroupe les lignes de dialogue et permet de renseigner les informations relatives à leur implémentation en jeu: un fichier audio, un ajustement du volume, un délai avant son activation, une animation, de la synchronisation labiale, etc.

La DT_DialogGroups regroupe l'ensemble des lignes de dialogue par groupe de dialogue (ou encore conversation). Chaque groupe de dialogue contient un ordre de priorité permettant de savoir si un dialogue peut interrompre un autre dialogue en cours.

 

D'autres conditions sont disponibles allant de la situation de gameplay nécessaire, au personnage déclenchant devant déclencher le dialogue. Ces règles sont surtout utilisé dans le cadre d'un dialogue contextuel demandant certaines conditions avant d'être joué.

Notes supplémentaires

Pour des raisons d'optimisation et d'organisation, les dialogues sont répartis et chargés par "scène" (en sachant que les dialogues de gameplay intervenant dans toutes les scènes sont réunis dans une scène "Common").

L'implémentation des sons et la création des soundbanks dans Wwise suivent la même organisation.

 

La caméra

Direction Créative

A la manière de Brothers: Tales of Two Sons, le jeu demande de contrôler un duo avec une seul manette. A la différence que l'un des personnages porte la caméra du jeu. On retrouve la perception d'un jeu à la 1er personne mêlée à la navigation d'un personnage à la 3eme personne.

Un travail tout particulier est apporté aux feedbacks de la caméra pour appuyer son aspect tangible. Le joueur devant ressentir la présence d'un caméraman aux commandes de la caméra du jeu, et le diriger dans un monde 3D.

Gameplay Programmer

Une configuration par défaut est vite apparue; celle où le caméraman cible le personnage filmé et se déplace autour. La difficulté de ce mode réside dans les déplacements latéraux et arrière puisque le joueur ne dispose d'aucune visibilité dans ces directions.

 

Un autre mode est proposé en parallèle où le cameraman se déplace comme dans un jeu à la 1er personne. Ce mode a été rajouté pour répondre au problème de frustration chez la plupart des joueurs à ne pas être dans la capacité de déplacer son regard sans avoir à repositionner le personnage filmé.

Un système de configuration et une architecture ont été mis en place avec le Lead Programmer pour faciliter la création de différents modes de contrôle (avec l'utilisation d'une Data Table). Par exemple, un mode où le personnage filmé est suivi automatiquement par le caméraman, ou un mode où le caméraman  ne bouge plus contrairement au personnage filmé, etc.

Télécharger ici

Un "pawn" gère l'ensemble des "characters". Tandis que les inputs sont gérés avec des interfaces, les "characters" sont générés, référencés en tant qu' "actor" et assignés au "pawn". Cette architecture nous permet à tout moment de modifier les "actors" assignés pour d'autres comme lors d'une séquence exotique où les contrôles changent.

Les feedbacks caméra marchent par l'utilisation de "curve" et de "timeline". L'ensemble des "curves" sont réunis dans une Data Table permettant aux game designers de facilement les personnaliser, et de varier un feedback en y proposant plusieurs versions.

LiveAd_Feedbacks.jpg

Narrative Design

Les interactions entre les personnages et donc l'action du joueur sont exprimées par un système de dialogue dynamique. Il nous permet de réagir à toute action du joueur, par exemple en arrêtant un personnage ou un autre ou les deux. 

Dialogue se déclenchant à la collision des personnages

Dialogue reprenant après une interruption

Dialogue se déclenchant lorsqu'un personnage a atteind la distance maximum

 

Signalétique

Direction Créative

L'orientation du joueur dans les niveaux répond à une volonté d'alléger la charge mentale du joueur.

Plusieurs signalétiques sont nécessaires: à la fois pour guider le joueur vers la suite du niveau mais aussi pour lui indiquer les bons points de vue.

Narrative Design

Des crochets appartenant aux parents, et utilisés pour le grappin par le personnage filmé sont placés sur le chemin du joueur. Cette solution marque des positions clés pour la progression du joueur et met littéralement les personnages sur la trace de leurs parents.

HighresScreenshot00000.png

D'autres éléments graphiques signalent le bon chemin à prendre comme des restes de chemin en ruine, des fresques colorées, des "god rays" ou encore l'agencement du niveau composant le cadre du caméraman.

Les dialogues des protagonistes guident aussi le joueur dans sa progression. Lors des puzzles par exemple les personnages interagissent lors de la réussite d'un atelier, ou bien, lorsque le joueur est bloqué, ces derniers mettent en avant notre système d'indice.

 

Un système de poids du regard sur la caméra permet au level designer quand il le souhaite d'amener le regard sur un point précis. Particulièrement utile lorsque le joueur demande un indice, la caméra se tourne vers la suite du niveau ou de l'atelier.

 

Le doublage

Direction Créative

Pour ressentir la complicité dans le duo, des dialogues sont écrits et implémentés. Cependant, un texte véhicule difficilement autant d'émotion qu'une voix. Pour rajouter du doublage, j'ai dû préparer et réunir l'ensemble des éléments nécessaires pour lancer les castings. La gestion des candidatures est organisée par un game designer, un sound designer et moi-même. 

Narrative Design

Après plusieurs playstests nous avons remarqué que l'affichage des sous-titres mêlé au contrôleur atypique forçait les joueurs à choisir entre "s'arrêter pour les lire" ou "les ignorer pour avancer". Dans les deux cas, les dialogues s'intégraient difficilement au gameplay et le doublage nous permet de palier en grande partie à ce problème.

Lead Writer

Pour préparer les doublages plusieurs extraits de dialogues ont été écrits puis sélectionnés pour pouvoir juger de la palette d'émotions de chaque candidat en plus de leur concordance avec les personnages.

Pour l'écriture j'utilise Celtx en créant un fichier partagé. De cette façon, nous pouvons facilement travailler à plusieurs et en se laissant des commentaires.

Voici un extrait des doubleurs sélectionnés pour les personnages (Carmina MANLEY & Arianna FOX doublant respectivement LENCE pour le caméraman & REEL pour le personnage filmé)​

00:00 / 01:39

Un grand merci à toute l'équipe!

Sans qui ce projet ne verrait pas le jour

as

Directrice Artistique
& Character Designer

as

Lead Game Programmer

as

Lead Game Designer

as

Environment Artist

as

Environment Artist

as

Technical/VFX Artist

as

Animator

LiveAdventure_KeyArt_RED_04.png

as

Technical Game Designer

as

Level Designer

as

Level Designer

Eugène Abadi

as

Sound Designer

as

Composer

Sound Designer